It did reduced, but I’ll come back to that in a moment.

Guests: actual people, six; eating like 8.

We become a little adventurous when we think of things we’d like to eat. For appetizer some roasted eggplants with balsamic and olive oil. Mushroom risotto and glazed pork chops. All in all seems doable. We all meet at the supermarket and get the produce. I had picked up the meat beforehand at this small butcher shop near my place Carne y co (if you’re in DR, http://www.carneyco.do is a must visit).

Magic broth

Magic broth

We made a vegetable broth for the risotto, not minding that we needed 15 cups of broth, it came a little short. Who knew measuring the water accurately could be so important? Carrots, broccoli, cauliflower, mushrooms stems, onions, garlic, pumpkin, salt and pepper and s handfull of coriander. Later as I was deboning the pork chops I had the brilliant idea that the broth could only get better if I threw in the pork bones. And I was right.

While the broth was becoming thicker and flavourful, Led (my bf) was chopping the mushrooms and I was outside listening  my friends about nonsense and everything.

IMG_20130616_213928

Hunger is knocking and there isn’t any eggplants left. It’s almost 9pm and we haven’t even started to golden the rice. That shouldn’t take much. I start cleaning the pork chops, after all they are ten. That done, I think it’s too early to start the glazed so I skim 10 minutes and sit on the patio; (on hindsight I’d regret this). “Jay” the guy in whose kitchen we’re cooking has no idea where a spoon can be found. “Dude, I need a large pan to make the rice” which only response was “Uhm… I don’t know where’s anything.” Lucky for us his brother was there.

Roasted eggplants on a cassava cracker topped with cheese

Roasted eggplants on a cassava cracker topped with cheese

-“Is that golden?”
-“More like pale yellow, I’ll ask Kay. Does that look golden….or pale?”
-“Yea, definitely pale”
-“See”
-“Well, it’s golden to me, must be the lighting”
-“Sure it is”

I better start the glaze. Apple juice, honey, dijon on a pan and allow to reduce. It didn’t want to reduce. It refused to reduced. After 10 minutes there and watching how the mix was still in liquid form, I somehow tricked Gib into taking over while I sat down outside for a moment. After transferring it to a wider pan and about 15 more minutes it did reduced. Watch here. *Courtesy of Gib*

Gotta make the pork chops since the rice is almost ready. A chunk of butter sizzling. Batch one almost done. Another chunk of butter, the second batch. Golden brown.

No caption necessary.

No caption necessary.

“Do you think is done?” – Led asks me about the rice.
“I think it should be creamier and less compact”
“I poured in all the white wine already. Yea, its done… What’s my last name” (*note, its italian)
“Ah of course, because now you know everything about risotto”

Risotto is ready. Well, what are we waiting, I’m fucking hungry. Here’s the final result.

It was as delicious as it looks

It was as delicious as it looks

 

After that, no one could really move but to the sofa next to the table. Some of us fell asleep. I needed yesterday, it was a good day.

