I’ve been really fixed on baking a decent loaf of bread, and I’ve failed with flying colours each time.

Not so bad.

Not so bad, a little pale.

This weekend I tried baking a baguette again. This time it was actually eatable, but rather wet on the inside. Here’s the video that I used. I think the problem was deflating the dough after proofing. I shall continue to seek better ways to make an actually baguette. Suggestions are indeed welcome.

On sunday I had to bake something and make it work. So after a while I decide to try breakfast butter buns. I used this website.

Strange looking buns

Strange looking buns

Delicious.

Delicious.

This one actually worked…. sort of. It’s all weighted to the gram, and I did but the dough was far too sticky to be worked properly so I added more flour until I could knead it. Other than that, I had no inconveniences. On hindsight, I’d bake it on a tray, so they maintain their cute roundness. It must be said that right out of the oven, they’re heavenly. Next day, they’re still good but rather on the dry side.

And finally on a more successful bread-baking experience a friend baked some bread for me. It’s a white loaf bread, with cheese and garlic. How can something with cheese and garlic be any bad? And I was far from being disappointed.

Garliky heaven

Garliky heaven

The bread had a nice crisp crust and its soft and spongy on the inside. It had a several minutes out of the oven when I tried it, still warm, and it was delicious. I was mostly surprised that by the looks of it, I thought it was going to be somewhat dry, but on the contrary it was the correct amount of moist. That airy and spongy texture. It was a happy surprise that on the second day, the garlic flavour is even more intense than before. All in all I liked the bread very much. It’d be perfect for a cheese and charcuterie tray, like jamon serrano, salami, pâtés, Vincent, Swiss… and a bottle of red.

