I’ve been MIA for about a month, I have had quite a handfull of posts I need to write but I haven’t had the time nor disposition to do so. Last Thursday it was bread making in class and that kinda got me in a good place. Here’s what happened. My teammates are by far really neat to work with, I was hoping to get the focaccia or the herb bread but they were rooting for a venezuelan jam bread ( not me). As the universe wanted we got the ham bread. On the same class we were making cinnamon rolls, parmesan biscuits and pizza (if it can be called, ill got back to the “pizza”)

Oh that's me.

Oh that’s me.

So here’s the herb bread:
4 – 4 1/2 c of flour (at home I used bread flour but all purpose works well)
3 tbsp sugar
4 1/2 tbsp yeast
1 1/2 tsp salt
1 tsp of blend (marjoram, basil, oregano, parsley, thyme and rosemary: 1/4 tsp each)
3/4 c milk
1/2 c water
1/4 c butter
1 egg

To brush after baking:
1 tbsp melted butter
1/2 tsp of aforementioned blend

Making of the bread:

– In a large bowl, mix 1 1/2 c of flour, sugar, salt and blend. If you’re using ready to use yeast go ahead and add it too, if like me you have to activate it, take 1 of the tbsp of sugar and 1/2 c of warm water and mix and let it be for like 10 minutes.
– Heat water, butter and milk.
– Add wet mix (this includes the yeast) to the flour. Blend.
– Add egg until smooth. Then add remaining of flour.
– Work the dough until soft and elastic, about  5 – 6 minutes.
– Cover and let stand 10 minutes (I had mine stand for 20, inside the oven, off of course)
– Divide the dough in 3. Work it with a rolling pin and roll it into a long thread. Make a braid.
– Place on a baking sheet and let double. About 20 – 30 minutes. If not double, wait longer.
– Bake at 375 for about 20 minutes. (Recipe called for 25 -30 but I found that to be far too long for my oven; try yours, after 20 check until its light golden.)
-Brush the butter and herbs. Let cool a little bit before eating.

Proofing #2

Proofing #2

My beautiful braid

My beautiful braid

Focaccia. It was too good. I don’t like that thin crap people make and call it a focaccia.

Ingredients:
1/4 c of olive oil
1 /2 tbsp sugar
2 1/4 tsp yeast
1 tbsp fresh thyme brunoise
4 tsp fresh rosemary brunoise
3 1/2 c of flour
2 tsp salt
parmesan. Lots of parmesan

Method:
-Lightly brush a baking tray with olive oil
-On a standard mixer with the bread hook mix yeast, sugar and 6 tbsp of warm water. Let rest for 5 minutes until foamy.
– Add olive oil, 1 c of warm water, thyme and 2 tsp of rosemary.
– Add flour, salt and mix at low until all combined. (About 2 minutes)
– Increase speed to med and continue to mix for 3 minutes until dough is sticky and wet.
– Transfer dough to working station and work it by hand for about 2 minutes
– Place dough on baking tray and even out borders.
– Cover and let proof until double it size. About 45 mins to 1 h.
– Make holes on dough with fingers and brush olive oil and rosemary and cheese
– Bake at 400C for 20 – 30 minutes (check until golden)

Focaccia almost ready for oven

Focaccia almost ready for oven

Focaccia ready

Focaccia ready

As for the rest I’m only posting pics, I’m tired. I’ll try to upload the recipes tomorrow.

Parmesan biscuits wannabe

Parmesan biscuits wannabe

Parmesan bisuits

Parmesan biscuits

Cinnamon rolls pre rolling :P

Cinnamon rolls pre rolling 😛

Cinnamon rolls pre oven

Cinnamon rolls pre oven

Cinnamon rolls pre glaze

Cinnamon rolls pre glaze

Cinnamon rolls

Cinnamon rolls

Well, anyone has any tips for herb breads?

